Toasted Coconut Rice Krispie Treats

28 Mar

ImageImage

 

 

I have a dirty secret.  I mean a REALLY dirty secret.  It’s been a long time since I’ve cleaned my oven.  I told you it was dirty.  I’m almost too embarrassed to talk about it.  It’s like admitting to a character flaw.  It’s just that, to do the self clean, I have to have all the windows open because it’s hot and stinky.  PLUS I have to be home for the 5 hour process!  What if I have to run to Target that day (again!).  Sigh.  I tell myself, “ok the next nice day, I will clean that oven”.  Eventually that nice day comes around and I really have to get out and play.  I ask you, which is more important, quality outdoor play time with my kids or a clean oven?  I knew you’d agree with me.  It’s way easier just to squint a little when I put something in the oven to bake.  Dirt is less obvious through squinted eyes.  Trust me.  

 

Toasted Coconut Rice Krispie Treats with Coconut M & M’s

Ingredients:

3 tbs butter

1 package of marshmallows (your choice, large or small)

4-5 cups of Rice Krispie cereal (I like really gooey treats, so I use a little less cereal)

1 1/2 cups toasted coconut *

1 9oz package Coconut M & M’s

 

Directions:

Melt butter in a large saucepan.  Add marshmallows.  Keep stirring while marshmallows melt.  Once melted, remove from heat.  Add cereal and toasted coconut.  Stir until blended.  Press mixture into a lightly greased 9 x 13 pan.  Immediately press M & M’s into the bars.  Let set.  Once cooled, cut yourself a giant piece and enjoy!

* To toast your coconut, spread your coconut in an even layer on a baking sheet.  Bake in a 300 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  Be sure to stir every 5 minutes.  Coconut burns quickly.

 

 

2 Responses to “Toasted Coconut Rice Krispie Treats”

  1. Andrea (questfordelish) April 25, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    These are so cute and I think my kids would love them. I am going to have to try these next Easter.

    • Lemons For Lulu April 25, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

      Thanks! My kids loved them! They didn’t last long in our house. Thankfully!

Leave a comment